Intereach Family Day Care recognised in awards

graphic of leaves

Intereach Family Day Care (FDC) has very strong representation in the national 2020 Excellence in Family Day Care awards

We are honoured to have a total of 22 FDC educators nominated for the Educator of the Year category in their respective state.

Our congratulations are also extended to the entire FDC team for the nomination of Intereach Family Day Care in the category Service of the Year (NSW), and to Marie Broadbent and Rebecca Fitzpatrick who have been recognised with nomination in the Coordinator of the Year (NSW) category.

The annual awards recognise the amazing work carried out by educators, coordinators and services in the FDC sector to deliver high quality early childhood education and care to children across Australia.

Intereach CEO Keryn Fox said the high number of nominations was testament to the quality of education and care provided by the organisation’s FDC service.

quote icon in teal rectangle

“I would like to personally congratulate every person who has been nominated, and the entire FDC team. To have so many nominations is an outstanding achievement and I would like to extend best wishes to everyone involved in the awards,” Ms Fox said.

The nominations are especially significant for the Intereach FDC team in Wagga Wagga, which has recently undertaken expansion when its existing 50 educators grew by 20 who had previously operated under a local government service.

The six Wagga Wagga educators nominated for the awards are Antoinette Balding, Marita Coote, Robyn Grimson, Yvonne McAlister, Leanne Smith and Sandra Stewart.

The full list of nominees from Intereach Family Day Care in the 2020 Excellence in Family Day Care awards is as follows:

Service of the Year (NSW) – Intereach Family Day Care

Coordinator of the Year (NSW) – Marie Broadbent and Rebecca Fitzpatrick

Educator of the Year (NSW)

  • Antoinette Balding (Wagga Wagga)
  • Marita Coote (Wagga Wagga)
  • Robyn Grimson (Wagga Wagga)
  • Yvonne McAlister (Wagga Wagga)
  • Leanne Smith (Wagga Wagga)
  • Sandra Stewart (Wagga Wagga)
  • Rowena Bawden (Moama)
  • Diane Leech (Moama)
  • Jo Hart (Moama)
  • Belinda Shaw (Moama)
  • Annette Fisicaro (Deniliquin)
  • Lynda Grimison (Deniliquin)
  • Ashlee Huntly (Deniliquin)
  • Amanda Rhook (Deniliquin)
  • Tammy Townsend (Deniliquin)
  • Vicki Smith (Finley)
  • Delicia Smith (Berrigan)

 Educator of the Year (VIC)

  • Maryann Gardner (Swan Hill)
  • Mary Saul (Swan Hill)
  • Judy Simpson (Swan Hill)
  • Kristy Cakebread (Echuca)
  • Michelle Oellermann (Echuca)

Nominees are invited to make a supporting submission against specific questions, and once submissions are completed a number of judging phases take place.

Regional winners and star award winners will be announced on October 6, with National winners announced on November 21.